

Collecting, preserving, and promoting Oregon's legal history



Discussion

July 19, 2019

By Douglas Pahl

1981, In the Indian guru Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh, his personal assistant Ma Anand Sheela, and their community of followers purchased the Big Muddy Ranch near the tiny Oregon town of



Philip Toelkes was known as Swami Prem Niren when he served as the attorney for Rajneeshpuram. All photos by Owen Schmidt.

Antelope. The ambitious experiment soon ignited great concern among the citizens of Antelope as well as among state and federal officials. The resulting legal and cultural controversies - many of them caused or exacerbated by supporters of the Bhagwan – played out in state and national media and in state and federal courtrooms. Events spiraled from challenging to bizarre to quite dark, and the initially challenging issues of constitutional, voting rights, and land use law issues gave way to fairly obvious issues in the realm of criminal law.

On June 27, before a crowd of approximately 300, leading advocates from both sides of the



Judge John Jelderks shares memories and newspaper articles of the time.

Rajneeshpuram episode revisited the events that captivated Oregonians and the nation in the 1980s and continue to reverberate today. Three speakers made prominent appearances in the acclaimed highly

Netflix Original documentary series Wild Wild The lively event was the latest Country. installment of the Famous Cases series. The U.S. District Court of Oregon Historical Society was joined by cosponsors the Oregon Historical Society and the Perkins Coie firm. Oregon Supreme Court Justice Tom Balmer moderated the discussion by:

Philip Toelkes (a.k.a. Swami Prem Niren), attorney for the Rajneesh

Robert Weaver,



Robert Weaver and William Gary listen to the Wild Wild History presentation.

assistant U.S. attorney at the time and lead

federal prosecutor

William Gary, lead counsel for Oregon Attorney General Dave Frohnmayer on the matter

U.S. Magistrate Judge John Jelderks, who presided over a number of the state court legal proceedings

Thirty-five years later, Oregonians continue to grapple with the Rajneeshpuram episode. It is an extraordinary story of a religious utopian experiment gone wrong. The strong feelings engendered by these events remain, highlighted poignantly by proceedings in Oregon courtrooms. The Famous Cases program brought together the leading legal advocates to reflect on the most significant issues they faced in and outside courtrooms during that tumultuous time.

1980s Oregon	Famous Oregon legal cases
Rajneeshpuram	

By adairl2014

PAGES **RECENT POSTS** WHO WE ARE USDCHS is operated by a 2003 Annual Picnic at the The Investiture of U.S. volunteer group of lawyers, Leavy Hop Farm District Judge Karin J. judges, scholars, and lay Immergut February 4, 2020 persons interested in 2004 Annual Dinner/LSA preserving the court's **Recipient Randall Kester** history. This historical Judge Anna J. Brown: "Fundamentally inclined society is a 501(c)(3) not-for-2004 Picnic Honoring Sen. toward solving problems" profit organization. Your

Wild Wild History: Key Players in the Rajneeshpuram Episode Come To... https://usdchs.org/2019/07/19/wild-wild-history-key-players-in-the-rajne...

Hatfield and Ninth Circuit Judge Otto Skopil

2005 Annual Dinner / LSA **Recipient Katherine O'Neil**

2005 Annual Picnic Honoring Oregon History Makers

2006 Annual Dinner / Lifetime Service Award **Recipients Tom Stoel and Carolyn Stoel**

2006 Annual Picnic Honoring Longevity in the Law

2007 Annual Dinner / Lifetime Service Award **Recipient Norm Wiener**

2008 Annual Dinner // Lifetime Service Award **Recipient Owen Panner**

2008 Picnic Honoring Legislative and Administrative Lawyers

2009 Annul Dinner/Lifetime Service Award Honoree Nancy Moriarty

2009 Picnic Honoring Officials and Lawyers for the Confederated Tribes

2010 Annual

-Lifetime Service Award 2019 January 8, 2020

History, Hospitality, and Hops January 3, 2020

The Investiture of U.S. Magistrate Judge Mustafa Taher Kasubhai December 17, 2019

The Hon. Danielle Hunsaker: A Gifted, Humble, and Kind Jurist December 17, 2019

membership and donations are appreciated.



Wild Wild History: Key Players in the Rajneeshpuram Episode Come To... https://usdchs.org/2019/07/19/wild-wild-history-key-players-in-the-rajne...

Dinner/Lifetime Service Award Honoree George Fraser

2010 Picnic Honoring Trial Lawyers

2011 Annual Dinner // Lifetime Service Award **Recipient Senior United** States Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Edward Leavy

2013 Annual Dinner/LSA **Recipients Norm Sepenuk** and Sidney Lezak.

2014 Annual Dinner/LSA Recipient Steve Wax

2014 Annual Picnic

2015 Annual Dinner/LSA Recipient Judge Robert E. Jones

2015 Annual Picnic

2016 Annual Dinner/LSA **Recipients Ron and Jewel** Lansing

2016 Annual Picnic

2017 Annual Dinner/LSA **Recipient Jeff Batchelor**

2017 Annual Picnic 2018 Annual Picnic 2019 Annual Dinner/LSA Recipient Judge Anna Brown 2019 Annual Picnic Articles Robert E. Jones, An Oral History Contact Us **Events** 2018 Annual Dinner/LSA **Recipient Barnes Ellis** December 1, 2017 CLE & Reception Historical Society's Annual Meeting and Lifetime Service Award Presentation Judicial Portrait Unveiling June 28, 2018 CLE & Reception Wild Wild History: The Rise and Fall of Rajneeshpuram Famous Cases Lecture Series

Historical Society's Annual **Picnic Through the Years**

Newsletters

Oral Histories

Ancer L. Haggerty Charles H. Turner Donald Ashmanskas **Elizabeth Perris** Noreen Kelly Saltveit McGraw Norman Sepenuk **Our Collection Betty Roberts** David Looney Edward Leavy Frank A. Bauman Garr M. King George E. Juba Henry Hess James A. Redden John Cooney John Jelderks Malcolm Marsh Michael Marcus **Owen Panner Randall Kester** Robert Belloni Robert E. Jones Stephen Bloom Susan P. Graber Peter McCabe Peter McCabe Sidney I. Lezak Steven T. Wax

Photos

Annual Picnic August 2014 Annual Picnic August 2017

Support Us!

Welcome

About Us Lifetime Service Award Past Presidents

U.S. District Court Historical Society - 2020 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$